17 November 2010

National Music Council Awards announced and ceremony details

The National Music Council’s (NMC) Local Authority Music Education Awards 2010 Major Trophy has been awarded jointly to Devon and East Ayrshire Local Authorities. Diplomas of Merit go to Barking and Dagenham, Blackpool, East Lothian, Enfield, and Hampshire. The PRS Foundation will be awarding a Diploma of Special Merit to Glasgow for their commitment to creative music making.

Jazz Services will be recognising a commitment to jazz education through their Will Michael Awards. Thus a Diploma of Special Merit goes to Devon and Diplomas of Merit to Aberdeenshire, East Renfrewshire and Lincolnshire.

Please RSVP to Peter Filleul, info@nationalmusiccouncil if you would like to attend the presentation ceremony on Tuesday 23rd November.

All these Awards will be presented on Tuesday 23rd November 2010 at the British Phonographic Industry offices in London.

Robin Osterley, Chair of the Awards Panel, said: “As a panel we were once again faced with a very difficult choice, and are grateful to all those Local Authorities who took the trouble to apply in the midst of a very busy schedule. At a time when music education is undergoing a comprehensive review, and when financial pressures are so great, we would do well to remember that there are so many Authorities out there doing their level best, sometimes with limited resources, to provide outstanding opportunities for young people to learn music, and most importantly, make music”

Sarah Faulder, Chairman, NMC, said “The NMC Awards scheme is the most prestigious awards that Local Authorities can obtain for their music education provision. The high quality and standards of the submissions have been maintained in 2010 and the winners are to be congratulated on their achievements.”

No comments:

Post a Comment